Chocolate Nirvana

Several years ago I was given the Ghirardelli Chocolate Cookbook. Despite the fact that I’ve studied it religiously and drooled over the photographs, I’d never yet made any of the recipes. A couple years ago I went out and purchased individual ramekins specifically to make the Individual Soft Center Cakes. I’m not sure why I’ve been dragging my feet so long, but I finally decided to give it a go tonight.

wpid-20151012_172322.jpg

It was fun to make. I usually opt to melt my chocolate in the microwave, but I decided to strictly follow the instructions, so I melted the chocolate in a heat proof bowl over a pan of simmering water. For some reason, I found this process soothing and mesmerizing. What can I say? I’m infatuated with chocolate.

wpid-20151012_182354.jpg

Taste-wise, this was a standout success, guaranteed to make any chocoholic happy. All the people in my house approved and requested that I make it again. My only complaint is with the name: Individual Soft Center Cakes. Hmm. No pizzazz. I hereby dub thee Chocolate Nirvana. You’re welcome.

wpid-20151012_183823.jpg

In the interest of full disclosure, I direct your attention to my finished product. Now, if you look at the finished product in the recipe link, you’ll see that mine did not turn out nearly as attractive. In the future, I think I would leave it in its little ramekin and serve the ramekin on a dessert plate with the ice cream on the side, because it really did totally lose its shape.

We still ate it happily.

http://www.ghirardelli.com/recipes/individual-soft-center-cakes/

Leave a Reply

