One Whole Chicken, Three Meals

image

I haven’t done a big menu plan/stock up grocery trip for…a while. My goal was to try to use up things from the freezer/pantry/fridge and not be wasteful. I gathered up some ingredients and got busy.

image

Lemon Garlic Rosemary Crock Pot Chicken

Whole chicken
2 heads garlic, halved
Onion, rough chopped
2 small lemons, halved
2 T olive oil
Sprig fresh rosemary
Salt and pepper
Old Bay Blackened Seasoning
Bag of baby carrots

I had a bag of organic baby carrots that needed to be used, so I tossed those in the bottom of the crock pot. I rinsed my whole chicken and patted dry. Into the cavity I placed 2 whole garlic cloves, sliced in half, and a chopped onion. I had 2 scrawny-looking lemons, which I halved. I squeezed the juice onto the chicken, then placed lemon halves into chicken and the chicken into crock pot. Olive oil was rubbed onto chicken, then it was liberally sprinkled with salt, pepper, and Old Bay seasoning. I tucked a sprig of rosemary from our herb garden under the chicken skin, and placed lid on crock pot. This was refrigerated overnight, then cooled on low all day while I worked. It was delicious! The lemony garlicky rosemary aroma and flavor was delectable.

Leftover Chicken Soup
Adapted from Pillsbury Kitchen Family Cookbook

1 1/2 t salt
1/4 t poultry seasoning
Bones from chicken
3 t chicken bouillon
1 bay leaf
6 c water
3/4 c orzo
4 med carrots, chopped
2 stalks celery, chopped
2 peppers, chopped  (I used red)
2 medium onions, chopped

In large pot, combine first 6 ingredients. Simmer, covered, 1 1/2 hours. Remove bones; cut off meat and return meat to broth. Add remaining ingredients to broth. Simmer 30 minutes or until vegetables are tender.

This was excellent; the best version of chicken soup I’ve ever made. The lemon flavor from chicken delicately flavored the soup.

Chicken Salad

Leftover chicken, well chopped
1 c rough-chopped pecans
1 stalk celery, chopped small
1 cup grapes, halved
Mayo, enough to hold together
Salt and pepper to taste

I used up what I had without a store run, enjoyed three delicious meals for 3 adult appetites with lunch leftovers. Win win!
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

