Early Morning Ramblings

image

Today I went for a long walk in the neighborhood. We have a lovely neighborhood with ever-increasing walking paths meandering around several ponds.

image

I’ve always enjoyed the outdoors. I don’t do this as often as I’d like because…Oklahoma summers. I’m a wimp when it comes to humidity + heat.
However, outdoors is where I’m at my best.

image

When I’m out alone, going for a ramble in nature, I do my best thinking. Here is where I best pray, meditate, readjust my attitude, and do any profound thinking of which I may be capable.

image

I always bring my camera/phone on these rambles. First of all, for safety! I’m clumsy, and live in fear of breaking my ankle while out walking alone.

image

image

I also bring my camera because I’ve discovered I am more attentive when I’m looking for a photo op. My eyes and ears are constantly searching for the beautiful, unusual, the peaceful, and lovely. Would I have even noticed the loon/heron(?) hidden in the above two photos if I hadn’t had my camera and been looking for a shot?

image

image

image

image

Or stopped to enjoy the ducks and geese?

image

image

I’ve always been a perfectionist, an overachiever: a bit stressed (okay, a lot stressed) by disorder, untidiness, halfhearted efforts, mistakes. I have that editor’s mind: I see all the imperfections on the page. This makes me a great organizer and an ideal proofreader, but it’s a defeating way to live life.

image

I’m working on letting go of the negative, on training myself to always be on the lookout for the lovely, the positive, the beautiful, the things that are worth thinking about.

image

Today, I’m choosing to believe that there’s always hope for new growth, to see with new eyes, to think new thoughts. I can decide that I am going to be the person who sees the beauty, the possibilities.

“Finally, brothers  [and sisters], whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” Philippians 4:8

5 thoughts on “Early Morning Ramblings

  1. I love your blog. As I was reading it the same scriptures came to my mind as you posted. God bless you. I love you.

    Like

  2. You have such a way with words Kim. You just make them come alive on paper. Now I am ashamed of the way I wrote my book and journal,. But some people have it and some don’t. So I am just what I am. But do enjoy reading your blog. .

    Like

Leave a Reply

