Crochet with Kim

image

I’ve been working on this large all-white afghan off and on for about three years, and I finally completed it last night! Whew! I discovered that working a large project in monochrome can get tedious, but I love the finished product.

image

I used Lion Brand Pound of Love yarn in white. You can find the pattern at http://lionbrand.com. You will have to register to the site, then search for Hooded Baby Afghan. I increased the size, used 2 of the huge balls of yarn, and did not make the hood.
Here’s a close up:

image

And another:

image

My Grandma Fossey was skilled at crochet, but since I didn’t learn till after I married and left home, she didn’t teach me. Instead, I taught myself using a “Teach Yourself to Crochet” book. These days, there are also many free tutorials on line. I find crocheting to be extremely relaxing, and studies have shown that repetitive skills such as yarn arts can reduce anxiety. I highly encourage you to give it a try!

I’d like to share my favorite crochet blog, http://attic24.typepad.com
At this site you’ll find inspiration in a chatty, cheerful voice with inspiring color combinations and–a bonus–lovely photos of the English countryside.

Leave a Reply

